How do you choose?

So how do you choose between a project that is already started with no end plan in sight or a project with a layout, ideas and characters but that isn’t started in the slightest?

This decision perhaps wouldn’t prove so difficult if the two projects weren’t completely different in every way, the first a sort of memoir, the second a science fiction novel.

I use the term memoir loosely, it is not so much a memoir as an elaborate diary in novel form, and without the ‘dear diary’. It is also following events of my life as they happen rather than looking back on a specific event, which is where the ‘no end plan in sight’ problem comes up. It has no plot, no event to focus on.

But I also have no idea how to begin the science fiction novel, I have read many in my life time but none focusing specifically on the sub-genre I have in mind. So I am stuck between projects with no idea of which to turn, so I turned to you wordpress. Ah procrastination.

4 comments
  1. twistedlola said:

    Which one is really drawing you to it? Which one seems more “passionate” to you? OR…you could put both in a hat and pick a piece of paper. And if you do that, you have to leave up to the universe and just know that the project picked you. 🙂

    • It’d have to be the memoir/diary/memory keeper, (it just feels wrong to call it a memoir). But the thought of not having a plan or structure is off putting. I guess I just answered my own question though.

  2. I like the idea of having no plan. When I write fiction, usually the characters lead me to the end, not the other way around. It would be different, however, with a memory keeper story (I like that phrase, by the way). But, perhaps, a story doesn’t always need an ending with closure. For example, the movie Mona Lisa Smile with Julia Roberts didn’t thrill me the first time I saw it, but I watched it again the other day (after many years) and realized that maybe the ending without a definite ending is better that way in some circumstances. Just a thought 🙂

    • I haven’t seen that movie, I will give it a watch now though. Perhaps it’ll help. I have been thinking of changing the ‘memory keeper’, making it part fiction, to maybe include a plot and events while still including the memoir genre. Sort of Eat, Pray, Love-esque. Thanks for your input 🙂

Leave a Reply

